Posted by: Tobias | August 20, 2008

Melodic mothafuckas

I’m keeping a mental list of melodic covers of hip-hop/gangta rap songs, because I think it’s a brilliant genre. The only songs currently on the list are Jamie Cullum’s cover of the N.E.R.D’s “Frontin'” and Ben Folds’ cover of Dr. Dre’s “Bitches ain’t shit”. Kind of short, I know.

Thankfully, today I can add to the list an acoustic cover of NWA’s “Straight outta Compton” – one of the gangsta rap hymns -performed by the rather cute, white and blonde Nina Gordon.

Any other songs that I should add to the list?

Responses

  1. I wish, cool to see (hear).

    (I find Nina’s looks are more impressive than her songs by the way)

  2. It’s not a particularly good song per se. It’s just a very cool cover, because it’s so different from the original.

  3. […] may not fit exactly into the genre of melodic rap song covers I posted about recently, but the Hot 8 Brass Band nevertheless has a pretty cool take on the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

