Posted by: Tobias | April 29, 2009

Hocus Pocus

I’ve already posted about my latest musical discovery on facebook, but for those of you who are still stuck in the dark ages of web 1.0 and those that prefer the more elaborate exposition of a blog post over a quick link, here goes:

I went to a concert by the Youngblood Brass Band in Cologne on Sunday and while these guys are worth a recommendation of their own, they are not what left me most impressed that evening. There was a DJ at the concert that entertained the audience in the short break in between sets by making awfully hip-hoppy noises and playing a few tunes and one of those tunes intrigued me so much that I went and asked him what it was. As it turned out, the band whose song I had been listening to was Hocus Pocus, a French group that specializes in hip hop set to easy, mellow, jazz-infused samples. I have since gotten my hands on the two recordings these guys have put out and haven’t been able to stop listening to them since.

Leave a Reply

Categories

